Reload this Page >

Us Pension Lump sum before retirement age

Us Pension Lump sum before retirement age

Old Mar 13th 2017, 7:36 pm
Forum Regular

msnapz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Us Pension Lump sum before retirement age

Hi Guys,

Tried to find this in the forums but no luck!

I am a us and uk citizen now living in England. I have a lump sum pension distribution from my previous company coming in April and about to fill in the form. On the form it asks what state I am a tax resident of. As I dont live in America any more not sure on this question. Basically for taking a lump sum payment I am subject to the 20 percent federal tax penalty for taking the money before the age of 55 1/2.

My question is as I am no longer resident in the US do you know if this 20 percent penalty still applies? Will I have to pay any tax on it at all in England or America?

Thanks for any help you can offer I appreciate it.
Old Mar 13th 2017, 8:19 pm
nun
BE Forum Addict

nun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond reputenun has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Us Pension Lump sum before retirement age

Originally Posted by msnapz
Hi Guys,

Tried to find this in the forums but no luck!

I am a us and uk citizen now living in England. I have a lump sum pension distribution from my previous company coming in April and about to fill in the form. On the form it asks what state I am a tax resident of. As I dont live in America any more not sure on this question. Basically for taking a lump sum payment I am subject to the 20 percent federal tax penalty for taking the money before the age of 55 1/2.