Reload this Page >

US Car Rentals for UK Residents

Wikiposts

US Car Rentals for UK Residents

Old Apr 4th 2022, 1:15 am
Just Joined

MM62 is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation US Car Rentals for UK Residents

Hi, I'm a UK resident originally from California, USA. I currently hold a valid California Driver's License, and on a trip back in a few weeks I want to be able to rent a car. I'm very confused about the best way to do this and am getting all sorts of conflicting information of what seems like it should be an easy process.

When I went back to Los Angeles last year I had some issues at the rental counter because I didn't have an international driver's license (even though I have a valid CA license) and the drivers license address not matching my UK home/credit card address. They ultimately gave me the car but I don't want to run into an issue again and am unclear what I did wrong.

I do not have a UK license and was not planning to get one as I don't intend to drive here.

Does anyone have experience with this and would it be easier if I just use the US address where I get mail (that's also on my DL) when renting and skip the UK aspect of all together? And IF I do that does that invalidate any insurance/liability waivers I purchase for the rental?

It also seems that if I rent a car on the US sites vs UK sites the fees are MUCH cheaper, however, someone told me that if I do it that way I won't get the right insurance.

Hoping someone can clarify this for me. Thank you in advance.

Last edited by MM62; Apr 4th 2022 at 2:23 am.
Old Apr 4th 2022, 2:59 am