Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK Tv to USA

UK Tv to USA

Old Mar 7th 2019, 2:27 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 41
Antihero is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Tv to USA

Hi All

I am in process of moving to Cali later in the year and we will be shipping some items over and buying some items new in the US

Question is really about my tv , its rated 100-240v and 50/60hz

will i be able to use it in the US? reason is there is nothing wrong with it and its a good TV and i dont want to waste some of my relocation money if i have a perfectly working TV. I know there is a risk of shipping but it will be insured so if anything goes wrong its covered

What your thoughts
Ryan
Antihero is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 2:42 pm
  #2  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,156
Hotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Sounds like it will be fine and will just require a new power cord.

Have you decided where to live?

Last edited by Hotscot; Mar 7th 2019 at 2:44 pm.
Hotscot is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 2:46 pm
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Auburn, Alabama
Posts: 1,014
neill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond reputeneill has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

It won't be able to directly receive broadcast TV but that's very easy to get around and usually a non-issue anyways. Other than that HDMI should be fine. For Non-HD input, if your TV solely has SCART inputs, invest in some SCART to Phono/RCA adapters.
neill is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 2:59 pm
  #4  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 41
Antihero is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Thanks , it will be running through HDMI and probably only using Amazon Prime or Netflix and not normal aerial

We are planning on going to Camarillo ,
Antihero is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 3:40 pm
  #5  
Bob
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,481
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Only real issue these days, warranty usually isn't global and tv's are cheap here, so is the cost/space of shipping worth it versus flogging it and getting a new one? Up to you really.
Bob is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 4:20 pm
  #6  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,156
Hotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Good point. Practically giving them away in Costco.
Hotscot is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 5:25 pm
  #7  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 41
Antihero is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Space not an issue, TV is out of warranty.. Really about saving hassle of selling it here if there nothing wrong with it, saves on my relocation spending.
Antihero is offline  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 5:49 pm
  #8  
Lt Col (Retd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 45,657
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Originally Posted by Antihero View Post
Space not an issue, TV is out of warranty.. Really about saving hassle of selling it here if there nothing wrong with it, saves on my relocation spending.
I am all about saving a few beans if I, can .... I will always be a Yorkshireman, . but the price of TVs in the US is getting silly these days. Hotscot is right, they are almost giving them away now and not only at Costo. Amazon has a new 50" Sharp 1080p for $280, and Best Buy has a new 65" Samsung 4k for $650!

Last edited by Pulaski; Mar 7th 2019 at 5:57 pm.
Pulaski is online now  
Old Mar 7th 2019, 5:57 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 41
Antihero is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

It's tempting but I can spend the money on a new soundboard as my Yamaha won't work.....I did see a 83 inch in Costco for 2400 dollars Samsung model....
Antihero is offline  
Old Mar 8th 2019, 8:52 am
  #10  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jun 2018
Posts: 21
Phathamster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

if its out of warrenty its probably already old tech to be fair.

id just flog it for £50-100 and buy new out there, it will be worthless in the states, and by the time new cable is fitted, any dvd/freeview will be obsolete. they really are super cheap stateside.
Phathamster is offline  
Old Mar 8th 2019, 12:45 pm
  #11  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,156
Hotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

If it's got HDMI it'll probably work fine and I don't think there's any freeview system here anyway.
Especially in his area most will get tv through some sort of paid service, cable or satellite, that will have an HDMI output to the telly. Which in any case is essentially working like a monitor.
But yes the new ones are pretty inexpensive and personally, with few exceptions, like the Panasonic Plasma that I own, I'd buy a new one.
Hotscot is offline  
Old Mar 8th 2019, 3:26 pm
  #12  
MODERATOR
 
penguinsix's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Hong Kong, mostly.
Posts: 5,059
penguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Seriously, the price at COSTCO is mental. I mean 50+ inches for < $500. I'd seriously consider a £100 offer and getting something new and shiny here.
penguinsix is offline  
Old Mar 8th 2019, 3:31 pm
  #13  
Lt Col (Retd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 45,657
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Originally Posted by Hotscot View Post
If it's got HDMI it'll probably work fine and I don't think there's any freeview system here anyway. ....
FTA is more common than most people realize, and it is quite easy to buy a small digital "set top" antenna and plug it into a modern TV to get local channels.

ETA: Here you go,
$20 on Amazon $20 on Amazon
.

Last edited by Pulaski; Mar 8th 2019 at 3:38 pm.
Pulaski is online now  
Old Mar 8th 2019, 3:38 pm
  #14  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6,156
Hotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Yes, I guess you could use them interchangeably.
I hardly watch it, 300+ channels as well..
Hotscot is offline  
Old Mar 8th 2019, 6:30 pm
  #15  
BE Forum Addict
 
rpjs's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Sleepy Hollow, New York
Posts: 2,497
rpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Tv to USA

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
FTA is more common than most people realize, and it is quite easy to buy a small digital "set top" antenna and plug it into a modern TV to get local channels.

ETA: Here you go, $20 on Amazon.
Interesting. Anyone have experience of actually using one of those things? Altho for twenty bucks I'm tempted just to get one to try out.
rpjs is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.