Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK Police Officer wanting a US life....Possible?

UK Police Officer wanting a US life....Possible?

Old Sep 3rd 2012, 9:22 pm
Just Joined

kristo32 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Police Officer wanting a US life....Possible?

Hello all,

I just joined this forum having read a couple of similar threads that are ageing slightly so I thought Id ask a fresh question....

The title gives it away slightly but I am looking seriously into the possibility of moving to the USA to become a Police Officer. I currently work as a response officer in the UK and have done so for 7 years.

The Obvious question is......

1. Is this possible without going through hell and high water to do so?
2. I have family in the US who are citizens and have been so for many years, I understand there may be a sponsorship opportunity???
3. I have been told by a friend of a friend etc :-/ that a few areas such as Chicago were taking the lead on taking external people into the force as a 'trial' witht he possibilty of America looking at this as an immigrant option?

naturally I have a lot more to say but the above points pretty much cover it and I would be very grateful for anyone who has knowledge to give me a definative answer!

thanks for your time.

Kris
Old Sep 3rd 2012, 9:27 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Police Officer wanting a US life....Possible?

Originally Posted by kristo32
1. Is this possible without going through hell and high water to do so?