Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK Pension - Lump Sum - Tax?

UK Pension - Lump Sum - Tax?

Old Jun 16th 2015, 1:23 am
Forum Regular

iceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond reputeiceflow has a reputation beyond repute
Default UK Pension - Lump Sum - Tax?

Folks,
I believe it is possible to take a percentage of a private pension as a tax free lump sum up to a certain amount. Question.....is it considered tax free in the US?
I'm new at this...but....tax free money sounds the way to go, but I need to do the math on the back end to see the overall effect on the reduced annual pension set against the value of the lump sum set against life expectancy. Any useful links to this subject much appreciated.

As always, thanks for the viewpoints.
Old Jun 16th 2015, 3:01 am
Forum Regular

LotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond reputeLotusEater33 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Pension - Lump Sum - Tax?

Try QROPS

I think you have to be over 55 to get any of the cash
Old Jun 16th 2015, 3:10 am
Bob
BE Site Lead