British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   UK nurse to Pennsylvania, need help desperately!!! (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/uk-nurse-pennsylvania-need-help-desperately-751959/)

Kkacan Mar 18th 2012 7:30 pm

UK nurse to Pennsylvania, need help desperately!!!

Hi, firstly can I apologise as you probably have loads of nursing questions but I am new here and been searching forums all day and not finding what I want! Or I find it but it's years out of date!

I am a UK trained nurse (4 years) university trained.
The majority of my family live in Pennsylvania and it has always been my plan for several years to move over once I had nursing experience. I am now wishing to start the process and I am completely lost!

I keep reading about the nursing retrogression! Is this still the case and does it only apply if you wish to go via the green card route?

I am 25years old, one 3 year old and my husband ( who has no trade, university degree or anything) so it is all based on my nursing.

I can't go via family visa as I have no immediate family, all aunts, uncles, cousins etc who I am very close with! Visit frequently!

I can not imagine not getting to move over!

I would be very grateful for advice anyone can give me in relation to visas, registering with nursing boards, requirements, exams, timescale etc.

Thankyou in advance!

Duncan Roberts Mar 18th 2012 8:11 pm

Re: UK nurse to Pennsylvania, need help desperately!!!