Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Old Oct 22nd 2011, 4:12 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 16
LucyWoodhead is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

ok, so we're likely to be emigrating to Houston in Jan/feb time.....my 6 and 4 year old are desparate for Santa to bring them a Wii this year - great timing! A second hand one is on the cards - purchased before we realised how soon we may be moving! my question is; will this work in the USA or should I let the kids play on it now then sell it before we move and buy again in USA?! Trivial, but will probably be the most important factor re the move in my kids eyes!
LucyWoodhead is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2011, 4:51 pm
  #2  
 
lansbury's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukie, Oregon
Posts: 9,471
lansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

I think if it is 100v - 240v and in the settings you can set the output signal for either PAL or NTSB it will work.

or

It is 100v - 240v and you run the signal to the TV via composite or HDMI cables it will work. This is the one I have a small doubt about. You would need to buy the cables.

Just looked on craigslist and you can get a used one for around $50 or less so not sure it is worth bringing it, when you can get a US one that cheap.
lansbury is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2011, 5:47 pm
  #3  
Septicity
 
fatbrit's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 23,762
fatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond reputefatbrit has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Wii-U will be released within next 6 months. Expect large discounts on existing Wiis.
fatbrit is offline  
Old Oct 22nd 2011, 6:01 pm
  #4  
Fair and balanced
 
kimilseung's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 14,252
kimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond reputekimilseung has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

It is my understanding that Wii games are region encoded, so you can play games bought in UK on a UK Wii, but if you brought it to the US, while you could continue to play the games you have; any games bought in the US would not work on it.

So you might want to bring it, even if you pick up a cheap local one, as lansbury suggests, so you can continue to play the UK games.
kimilseung is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2011, 12:55 am
  #5  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 101
washsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nicewashsaint is just really nice
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

yes the UK Wii will work in the US (we brought ours over last year) but US games will not work on a UK console.
washsaint is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2011, 4:00 am
  #6  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,728
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Originally Posted by lansbury View Post
I think if it is 100v - 240v and in the settings you can set the output signal for either PAL or NTSB it will work.

or

It is 100v - 240v and you run the signal to the TV via composite or HDMI cables it will work. This is the one I have a small doubt about. You would need to buy the cables.

Just looked on craigslist and you can get a used one for around $50 or less so not sure it is worth bringing it, when you can get a US one that cheap.
It's composite if you get the pricey extra cables, no HDMI on it.

Games are region coded.

Get a new system with a bunch of games for $150 anyway.

The new one will come out soon enough that will be HD, so making the old one even cheaper.

Thing about the region coding, well there are plenty of softmods to root kit it and make it regionless, you can even stick on a hard drive to install the games, it's pretty easy these days, don't even need to do the save game trick to get the home brew channel.

http://www.joystiq.com/2011/08/19/ho...ve-in-america/

:/
Bob is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2011, 5:52 am
  #7  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 59
triptastic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

I use a UK Wii with the original composite cable.

Just bought a new power supply from ebay - think it was about $5.
triptastic is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2011, 7:13 am
  #8  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 16
LucyWoodhead is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Thank you so much everyone for all the info - very much appreciated indeed.
LucyWoodhead is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2011, 12:15 pm
  #9  
 
Weeze's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,262
Weeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond reputeWeeze has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

We use ours on the uk tv in the games room with a transformer to power both. For the games, it makes for easy birthday/Christmas present suggestions. Family and friends buy them in the uk and post over, or use amazon.co.uk with international shipping.
Weeze is offline  
Old Oct 23rd 2011, 1:22 pm
  #10  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,728
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Originally Posted by Weeze View Post
We use ours on the uk tv in the games room with a transformer to power both. For the games, it makes for easy birthday/Christmas present suggestions. Family and friends buy them in the uk and post over, or use amazon.co.uk with international shipping.
I'd just get a new US power brick and bung it onto a US tele, would save a chunk of change on the electric bill...and reduce the fire hazard
Bob is offline  
Old Oct 24th 2011, 5:55 pm
  #11  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 274
AddyLaddy has a spectacular aura aboutAddyLaddy has a spectacular aura aboutAddyLaddy has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

We brought ours over and just plug it into a UK power bar which is running of a simple adaptor plug. Haven't needed to use any power/voltage converters.

It can only play UK games which means we don't buy any new ones out here - they're pretty expensive in the USA anyway.

It's currently connected to a multi-region TV, but when we tried to plug it into our new LCD TV (Samsung) it failed to find a signal. Probably an NTSC vs PAL issue as I had to flip the multi-region DVD player over for it to work. But I don't know how to change the Wii over to NTSC, so we had to give up on that.
AddyLaddy is offline  
Old Oct 25th 2011, 3:53 pm
  #12  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
jabs1888uk is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Originally Posted by Weeze View Post
We use ours on the uk tv in the games room with a transformer to power both. For the games, it makes for easy birthday/Christmas present suggestions. Family and friends buy them in the uk and post over, or use amazon.co.uk with international shipping.
I am relocating to the bay Area in january and have a bunch of plasma TVs what size transformer will I need, (they are all 50/60hz but 240 v) Im not sure of the power consumed by the tvs
jabs1888uk is offline  
Old Oct 25th 2011, 9:22 pm
  #13  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,728
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Nintendo Wii - do they work in USA?!

Originally Posted by jabs1888uk View Post
I am relocating to the bay Area in january and have a bunch of plasma TVs what size transformer will I need, (they are all 50/60hz but 240 v) Im not sure of the power consumed by the tvs
Unless someone else is paying to ship them, chuck them out...seriously...even with a transformer, the fire risk and running cost isn't worth it as those teles use a lot of juice compared to a LCD.

But if you insist, look in the manual, which you'll be able to find online anyway, the spec page will tell you what kind of wattage it churns through and get a transformer that's rated for at least double that.
Bob is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.