British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Uk firefighter (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/uk-firefighter-762986/)

Mrmister Jun 26th 2012 9:23 pm

Uk firefighter

Hi everyone, I'm new here and after a bit of advice. I'm thinking of moving to the USA, California to be exact. I'm a firefighter in the uk and was wondering if there are any of you who know if I could transfer to the USA as a firefighter? I know that the USA fire service is different to the uk I.E ladder coys, etc. I'm sure I heard of someone doing this a while ago but I may be mistaken. Has anyone here known or done a transfer of this kind? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jamie

scrubbedexpat099 Jun 26th 2012 10:39 pm

Re: Uk firefighter

Originally Posted by Mrmister (Post 10140798)
Hi everyone, I'm new here and after a bit of advice. I'm thinking of moving to the USA, California to be exact. I'm a firefighter in the uk and was wondering if there are any of you who know if I could transfer to the USA as a firefighter? I know that the USA fire service is different to the uk I.E ladder coys, etc. I'm sure I heard of someone doing this a while ago but I may be mistaken. Has anyone here known or done a transfer of this kind? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Jamie

Are you a US Citizen?

Or is your spouse?

fatbrit Jun 26th 2012 10:42 pm

Thanks
Jamie

Could you work as a firefighter in the US? I should think the answer is probably yes.

Would your skills as a firefighter allow you to immigrate to the US? Undoubtedly no.

Bob Jun 26th 2012 10:44 pm

Realistically, unless you're either born in Ireland, married to a USC or a USC, chances are slim to none of getting a visa to come here based on being a firefighter.

If you did manage to get here, ability to work would depend on the state and what they require for qualifications.

Welcome to BE though and good luck!