UK Employment Lawyer in California

Wikiposts

UK Employment Lawyer in California

Old Oct 2nd 2013, 9:50 am
Just Joined

boniobonio is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Employment Lawyer in California

Hey there,

My husband has just been offered an intra-company transfer to live and work in California. He'd be on an L-1 visa, so I'd consequently have an L-2 visa.

At present I work as a senior employment lawyer for one of the big banks in London, i'm 7 years qualified and enjoy a decent salary and benefits. I, of course, understand that I would have to pass the Californian bar in order to practice law there. My main concern is that my relatively specific UK employment law experience would not be valued by a US firm regardless of the close similarities.

Was wondering if anyone had any insight or experience here? Or could offer advice on any firms that might have a use for somebody with transatlantic employment/labor law experience?

All comments much appreciated.
Thanks!
T
Old Oct 2nd 2013, 12:04 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead

Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Employment Lawyer in California

Have a search, there's been a few threads over the years from lawyers moving countries, mostly CA/NY.

Don't know if CA is one of the states that'll let you just take the bar exam or not though, didn't think it was.

Good luck though!
Old Oct 3rd 2013, 3:34 am
Mouthy Yank