Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Old Jan 4th 2016, 3:00 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 63
Newbie1001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

I'm a brit.
Live in the USA on an O1 Visa.
I fly perhaps 100 times a year. Hate lines at security.
I'm now getting Global Entry - hurrah.
But will this also allow me to get a TSA Pre Check number.
Seen a lot of contradictory info since normally TSA Pre is closed to non perm residents, but Global Entry somewhat overides that.
Anyone know for sure?
Will save me about 25-50 hours per year.
Thanks
Newbie1001 is offline  
Old Jan 4th 2016, 3:55 pm
  #2  
Banned
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,154
hungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Originally Posted by Newbie1001 View Post
But will this also allow me to get a TSA Pre Check number.
Yes. It will.
hungryhorace is offline  
Old Jan 5th 2016, 3:17 pm
  #3  
Wolf In Sheeps Clothing
 
Sheepdip's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 946
Sheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Yes it will. Add the 'known traveler' number to your booking. Up until recently it was a bit hit and miss, but now I get it every time.
Sheepdip is offline  
Old Jan 5th 2016, 7:56 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 2,428
durham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Originally Posted by Sheepdip View Post
Yes it will. Add the 'known traveler' number to your booking. Up until recently it was a bit hit and miss, but now I get it every time.
+1

We've had GE and known traveler status for a while now and really is quite nice. Each time we fly I make sure the airline has our known traveler number on file and boarding passes come with labeled as TSA-Precheck. (Once an airline has your number you don't need to enter it every time you fly with them).
durham_lad is online now  
Old Jan 5th 2016, 11:07 pm
  #5  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 63
Newbie1001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Thanks all. Wonderful stuff.
Newbie1001 is offline  
Old Jan 11th 2016, 2:21 pm
  #6  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 63
Newbie1001 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Glad I asked this here. I had my interview today and they told me my known traveller number wouldn't get me precheck as I am not a perm resident. But have added it to my profile and have a feeling you both know more than these CBD people ? Hope so at least!
Newbie1001 is offline  
Old Jan 11th 2016, 3:18 pm
  #7  
Wolf In Sheeps Clothing
 
Sheepdip's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 946
Sheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond reputeSheepdip has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

http://www.cbp.gov/travel/trusted-tr...y/tsa-precheck
Sheepdip is offline  
Old Jan 11th 2016, 3:29 pm
  #8  
Banned
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,154
hungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond reputehungryhorace has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Originally Posted by Newbie1001 View Post
I had my interview today and they told me my known traveller number wouldn't get me precheck as I am not a perm resident.
Complete and utter nonsense.
hungryhorace is offline  
Old Jan 11th 2016, 11:21 pm
  #9  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: On
Posts: 389
misplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond reputemisplacedheidi has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

We got Global entry / Nexus (we're in Canada) in November and used it the first time over Xmas flying to Canada via the US.

Absolutely fabulous! Worked like a charm - immigration was a breeze.
Well worth the $50 application!
misplacedheidi is offline  
Old Jan 12th 2016, 12:37 pm
  #10  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Oakland County, Michigan
Posts: 846
NatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond reputeNatashaB has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Do you not need to be a Canadian citizen to get Nexus? Useful to know.
NatashaB is offline  
Old Jan 12th 2016, 12:43 pm
  #11  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Jerseygirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 82,076
Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Citizen, Global Entry and TSA Pre Check

Originally Posted by misplacedheidi View Post
We got Global entry / Nexus (we're in Canada) in November and used it the first time over Xmas flying to Canada via the US.

Absolutely fabulous! Worked like a charm - immigration was a breeze.
Well worth the $50 application!
It is well worth the cost. Exiting or arriving at US or Canadian airports is an absolute breeze. We also use the Whirlpool crossing when driving from/to Toronto/US. Only NEXUS holders can use the crossing which means there are no queues...unlike some of the other land border crossings where we've been waiting for over 2 hours!

Originally Posted by NatashaB View Post
Do you not need to be a Canadian citizen to get Nexus? Useful to know.
US or Candian citizens can apply for NEXUS. Permanent residents of both countries can now apply.

https://nexus-card.com/apply-for-a-n...FQ8vaQod4uwNfg

Last edited by Jerseygirl; Jan 12th 2016 at 12:47 pm. Reason: Add another reply
Jerseygirl is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.