TSA Pre

Old May 31st 2016, 1:24 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 47
PeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond reputePeterFrank has a reputation beyond repute
Default TSA Pre

I got my eligibility clearance and have had no luck using it. I amended two bookings to add my KTN and it never showed up on my boarding pass and couldn't use the lane.

Anybody had any experiences using it or advice on getting it to work?
PeterFrank is offline  
Old May 31st 2016, 2:19 pm
  #2  
 
lansbury's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukie, Oregon
Posts: 9,549
lansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

Is the airline you were flying with part of the pre clearance program. Not all are and do no pass the required information to the TSA.
lansbury is offline  
Old May 31st 2016, 6:09 pm
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
rpjs's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Sleepy Hollow, New York
Posts: 2,521
rpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

We all (me, wife, m-i-l) got Pre-check on our recent flight from JFK to Bermuda, even though none of us have signed up for it. It also appeared on our return boarding passes this morning at BDA. The security staff were calling out "There's no pre-check here - everyone goes through the same security. We're not the TSA: we're not American, we're a British colony!"

Last edited by rpjs; May 31st 2016 at 7:02 pm.
rpjs is offline  
Old May 31st 2016, 6:24 pm
  #4  
Lt Cl (Rtd)
 
Pulaski's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Dixie, ex UK
Posts: 49,098
Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

Originally Posted by rpjs View Post
We all (me, wide, m-i-l) ....
Typo of the day - we have a winner!
Pulaski is offline  
Old May 31st 2016, 7:02 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
rpjs's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Sleepy Hollow, New York
Posts: 2,521
rpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

Originally Posted by Pulaski View Post
Typo of the day - we have a winner!
****ing phone!
rpjs is offline  
Old Jun 1st 2016, 5:59 am
  #6  
Grumpy Know-it-all
 
Steve_'s Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 8,928
Steve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond reputeSteve_ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

If it doesn't show up on your boarding pass, talk to a check-in agent, I've had a similar experience in the past, it seemed to be caused by American and US Airways merging their booking systems.
Steve_ is offline  
Old Jun 2nd 2016, 12:27 pm
  #7  
 
lansbury's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Milwaukie, Oregon
Posts: 9,549
lansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond reputelansbury has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

Mrs L and I got it OK Tuesday made it a breeze. Greetings from Llanberis
lansbury is offline  
Old Jun 6th 2016, 8:57 pm
  #8  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jul 2014
Location: Northern Atlanta area, GA
Posts: 213
cautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond reputecautiousjon has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: TSA Pre

Originally Posted by PeterFrank View Post
I got my eligibility clearance and have had no luck using it. I amended two bookings to add my KTN ...
When I got my Global Entry approval (and thus TSA Precheck), I already had a flight booked with Southwest Airlines. I phoned the airlines' customers services number and had an airline rep manually enter it into my existing reservation. It took about a week to become active, and when I travelled a few weeks later, I got TSA Precheck with no problems.

Originally Posted by lansbury View Post
Is the airline you were flying with part of the pre clearance program. Not all are and do no pass the required information to the TSA.
Indeed. TSA has a map on its website that shows all the airports that have TSA Precheck and which airlines are part of the program. https://www.tsa.gov/tsa-precheck/map

Also, it's worth noting that whilst there is some flexibility in what name you give on your TSA Precheck (or Global Entry, NEXUS, Sentri) application and the name that you use on your airline booking, it's worth adding more detail if you can. For example, I have multiple middle names and when I applied for Global Entry, I input them all (to match what's written in my UK passport). When I now book flights on Southwest, I use all my middle names (and not just first name and last name) so that the name on the ticket matches the name on my Global Entry (and thus TSA Precheck) account as close as possible.

Last edited by cautiousjon; Jun 6th 2016 at 9:00 pm.
cautiousjon is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.