Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Transit visa required for K1?

Transit visa required for K1?

Old Dec 18th 2005, 12:40 am
  #1  
flipperz_39
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
flipperz_39 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Transit visa required for K1?

Hello experts:

I live in Canada and will be flying down to the US on a K1 visa.
i'll have to change my flight in Chicago before reaching my destination in North Carolina.

I am not a canadian citizen and my real question is if I'll require a transit visa for the stop-over in Chicago. I am hoping i wont need a transit visa because my intention is to move to the US permanently. But someone please confirm?

My stop-over in Chicago is for like 3 hours before proceeding to North Carolina. Would i have to 'submit' my brown envelope with the K1 visa to the INS/Homeland Security in Chicago?? And would i be granted a K1 visa in Chicago?

Would 3 hours be sufficient time to be granted a K1? I'm originally from pakistan, so I am sure the Immigration people will have million questions to ask.

Can anyone who has been through the same ordeal please share their experience? If i will be granted the K1 visa in Chicago, then may be i should cancel my connecting flight to North Carolina and look for a different flight.

I havent been able to get any useful from any travel agent so far.


thanks!
flipperz_39 is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 1:21 am
  #2  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 16,268
Folinskyinla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

Originally Posted by flipperz_39
Hello experts:

I live in Canada and will be flying down to the US on a K1 visa.
i'll have to change my flight in Chicago before reaching my destination in North Carolina.

I am not a canadian citizen and my real question is if I'll require a transit visa for the stop-over in Chicago. I am hoping i wont need a transit visa because my intention is to move to the US permanently. But someone please confirm?

My stop-over in Chicago is for like 3 hours before proceeding to North Carolina. Would i have to 'submit' my brown envelope with the K1 visa to the INS/Homeland Security in Chicago?? And would i be granted a K1 visa in Chicago?

Would 3 hours be sufficient time to be granted a K1? I'm originally from pakistan, so I am sure the Immigration people will have million questions to ask.

Can anyone who has been through the same ordeal please share their experience? If i will be granted the K1 visa in Chicago, then may be i should cancel my connecting flight to North Carolina and look for a different flight.

I havent been able to get any useful from any travel agent so far.


thanks!

Hi:

For your information, the Confederacy LOST in 1865. In any case, the Federal Government never recognized the seccession in any case. Illinois and North Carolina are both part of the United States.

Welcome to the USA.
Folinskyinla is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 1:21 am
  #3  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Boiler's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 30,520
Boiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

Most Canadian airports have US Immigration and you will clear there.
Boiler is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 2:17 am
  #4  
MODERATOR
 
Noorah101's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 57,657
Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

You should get the K-1 visa in your passport either at or just after your interview at the consulate, if you are approved. Meaning you'll get the K-1 visa before you leave Canada. You don't get the K-1 visa at the POE in the USA.

A transit visa would perhaps be needed if you were having to stop for any length of time in a different country on your way to the USA, which is not your case.

Rene
Noorah101 is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 2:36 am
  #5  
flipperz_39
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
flipperz_39 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

Hello David/Folinskyinla:

thank you for your responses!!
Appreciate it.

David, you have answered my question. Thats exactly what i was looking. Since my US immigration will be cleared in Canada, I wont have to worry anything else.

Thanks for your time and attention!

flipper


Thans

Originally Posted by Boiler
Most Canadian airports have US Immigration and you will clear there.
flipperz_39 is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 2:37 am
  #6  
flipperz_39
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 47
flipperz_39 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

Hello Noorah101:

Thanks for your response.

Boiler/David answered my concern.

Appreciate your response.

Regars,
flipper

Originally Posted by Noorah101
You should get the K-1 visa in your passport either at or just after your interview at the consulate, if you are approved. Meaning you'll get the K-1 visa before you leave Canada. You don't get the K-1 visa at the POE in the USA.

A transit visa would perhaps be needed if you were having to stop for any length of time in a different country on your way to the USA, which is not your case.

Rene
flipperz_39 is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 3:06 am
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,516
andrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond reputeandrea874 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

Originally Posted by Boiler
Most Canadian airports have US Immigration and you will clear there.

Not "most"... only a couple
andrea874 is offline  
Old Dec 18th 2005, 4:40 am
  #8  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 16,268
Folinskyinla is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Transit visa required for K1?

Originally Posted by andrea874
Not "most"... only a couple
Hi:

Its more than a "couple." However, the point for OP is that you clear US CBP at the INITIAL port of entry -- which may be a "PFI" in Canada. [On one return from the Middle East in Toronto, I cleared Candian border formalities, lugged my bags upstairs and then cleared US PFI -- all in 30 minutes!]
Folinskyinla is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.