Reload this Page >

Training to be a midwife

Training to be a midwife

Old May 6th 2010, 7:11 pm
Just Joined

eslalwani is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Training to be a midwife

Hi
just wondering if there are any midwifes or anyone training to be a midwife in the US. I will be there in the summer after much thought i would like to pursue a career in midwifey. I have a degree in buisness and i applied to some courses in the uk but i have to do an access to nursing course before i could be accepted onto a Degree course for midwifey or nursing. But as now i will be returning to join my husband in the us i am trying to see what i need to do. Midwifes do not seem to be a big thing in the us. Does anyone have any info on this.

Thanks Erica
Old May 6th 2010, 7:28 pm
BE Forum Addict

SarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond reputeSarahG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Training to be a midwife

Originally Posted by eslalwani
Hi
just wondering if there are any midwifes or anyone training to be a midwife in the US. I will be there in the summer after much thought i would like to pursue a career in midwifey. I have a degree in buisness and i applied to some courses in the uk but i have to do an access to nursing course before i could be accepted onto a Degree course for midwifey or nursing. But as now i will be returning to join my husband in the us i am trying to see what i need to do. Midwifes do not seem to be a big thing in the us. Does anyone have any info on this.

Thanks Erica
I think you do a Degree in nursing then Masters to get the midwife qualification. I was looking at info about this just the other day to do it at IUPUI