British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   TN, need some answers (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/tn-need-some-answers-109994/)

tweetybird Jul 30th 2002 10:52 pm

TN, need some answers

I think TN is the best way for me to work in the US. I'm a Canadain Citizen. I have an associates degree in Computer Animation, some Macromedia classes and 3 years experience. I want to enter under graphic designer but will my animation degree qualify and my 3 years of experience are not after my degree but done, before and during. Is this going to be a problem?
How hard is it to get TN? And, lastly.. can I use my degree if I get a job making websites? It's all graphic arts to me but they might not think so. Help please. Thanks.

Stuart Brook Jul 31st 2002 2:20 am

Re: TN, need some answers

tweetybird wrote:
    >
    > I think TN is the best way for me to work in the US. I'm a Canadain Citizen. I have
    > an associates degree in Computer Animation, some Macromedia classes and 3 years
    > experience. I want to enter under graphic designer but will my animation degree
    > qualify and my 3 years of experience are not after my degree but done, before and
    > during. Is this going to be a problem? How hard is it to get TN? And, lastly.. can
    > I use my degree if I get a job making websites? It's all graphic arts to me but
    > they might not think so. Help please. Thanks.
    >
    > --

From www.grasmick.com ...

Graphic Designer Must have:
. baccalaureate or
. post secondary diploma *and three years' experience

An Associates degree is NOT a Bachelors degree. It may be treated as a diploma
provided it is 2 years duration, and you can show that you had reasonable
qualifications as a graphic artist already before getting your experience, and
therefore getting the degree was building on that foundation.

As to the job, providing the main focus of your duties can be expressed as graphic