Tivo

Old Mar 9th 2006, 9:42 pm
  #1  
Bob
BE Site Lead
Thread Starter
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,723
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Tivo

Anyone got it?

Well I saw this about it, there dropping the life plan service....doesn't sound like tivo is going to be that good in the future...

http://thomashawk.com/2006/03/tivo-t...tion-only.html

http://slashdot.org/articles/06/03/08/2357213.shtml
Bob is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 9:51 pm
  #2  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 1,834
Big D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Bob
Anyone got it?

Well I saw this about it, there dropping the life plan service....doesn't sound like tivo is going to be that good in the future...

http://thomashawk.com/2006/03/tivo-t...tion-only.html

http://slashdot.org/articles/06/03/08/2357213.shtml

how does this work with the providers? We got a free box with Direct TV and pay $5 a month for it - which is well worth it!

I love the Tivo and wouldnt be without it - although other DVRs are offering many of the same features now.
Big D is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:01 pm
  #3  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Jerseygirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 82,098
Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Big D
how does this work with the providers? We got a free box with Direct TV and pay $5 a month for it - which is well worth it!

I love the Tivo and wouldnt be without it - although other DVRs are offering many of the same features now.
We have the cable company's equivalent to Tivo. No money down, approx $6 per month, any problems they come out and fix it or replace it. I think its a better deal all round.
Jerseygirl is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:04 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 1,834
Big D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond reputeBig D has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Jerseygirl
We have the cable company's equivalent to Tivo. No money down, approx $6 per month, any problems they come out and fix it or replace it. I think its a better deal all round.

sounds like the same deal we have with Direct TV but its a Tivo. Wanted is cos it was the only one to do season pass (that was available to us) at the time - but most of them do that now i believe. Also the Dish one lets you play back in any room! How cool?
Big D is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:08 pm
  #5  
Lapine Member
 
snowbunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas in my own little world
Posts: 21,691
snowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Jerseygirl
We have the cable company's equivalent to Tivo. No money down, approx $6 per month, any problems they come out and fix it or replace it. I think its a better deal all round.
Damn, we pay much more than that.... more like $15 per month if we want a DVR. Cable companies are raking it in, like the phone companies of old.
snowbunny is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:09 pm
  #6  
SUPER MODERATOR
 
Jerseygirl's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 82,098
Jerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond reputeJerseygirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Big D
sounds like the same deal we have with Direct TV but its a Tivo. Wanted is cos it was the only one to do season pass (that was available to us) at the time - but most of them do that now i believe. Also the Dish one lets you play back in any room! How cool?
That does sound good we can only play back on one TV, but we can record 2 channels at the same time.
Jerseygirl is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:14 pm
  #7  
Lapine Member
 
snowbunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas in my own little world
Posts: 21,691
snowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Damn, can't one of these companies licence the TiVo GUI?

I don't like having something I have to rent forever. That's the same way telephone companies used to rip people off. You had a very limited choice of phones, you paid rent every month, and you never owned the damned thing.

Would everyone like to go back to that plan? I wouldn't!
snowbunny is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:43 pm
  #8  
Bob
BE Site Lead
Thread Starter
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,723
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Big D
how does this work with the providers? We got a free box with Direct TV and pay $5 a month for it - which is well worth it!
That's why tivo isn't doing so well, they have to work up a deal with the cable companies...
Bob is offline  
Old Mar 9th 2006, 10:44 pm
  #9  
Bob
BE Site Lead
Thread Starter
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,723
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by snowbunny
Damn, can't one of these companies licence the TiVo GUI?

I don't like having something I have to rent forever. That's the same way telephone companies used to rip people off. You had a very limited choice of phones, you paid rent every month, and you never owned the damned thing.
That's the only way they can make money, and it's not working the long haul is it...
Bob is offline  
Old Mar 10th 2006, 3:34 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
aznewsh's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 97
aznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond reputeaznewsh has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

http://www.makezine.com/extras/4.html

Interesting to the more techie readers
aznewsh is offline  
Old Mar 10th 2006, 3:48 am
  #11  
Bob
BE Site Lead
Thread Starter
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,723
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by aznewsh
http://www.makezine.com/extras/4.html

Interesting to the more techie readers
tivo can be hacked to buggery too, which is nice...get linux on it and do loads of extra stuff...after the warranty is over with of course
Bob is offline  
Old Mar 10th 2006, 9:03 am
  #12  
Here we go Pittsburgh!
 
ukemigrant's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Pittsburgh PA, USA
Posts: 581
ukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond reputeukemigrant has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by snowbunny
Damn, can't one of these companies licence the TiVo GUI?

I don't like having something I have to rent forever. That's the same way telephone companies used to rip people off. You had a very limited choice of phones, you paid rent every month, and you never owned the damned thing.

Would everyone like to go back to that plan? I wouldn't!
Comcast is allegedly in the market for putting Tivo's front end onto their DVR (costs $10/month in my area). We have two Tivos at the moment and wouldn't be without them.

Vive la Tivo!
ukemigrant is offline  
Old Mar 10th 2006, 6:00 pm
  #13  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: SW Illinois, 25 miles from St. Louis
Posts: 17
mdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud ofmdglazerman has much to be proud of
Default Re: Tivo

I've just installed Tivo at home after finding out that our local company (Charter) were not setting up any new subsciptions to their own DVR system because of high demand (craziest thing I ever heard). The DVR through charter would have cost $20 a month. I bought a 40GB re-conditioned Tivo box from Tivo, complete with 12 months subscription for $155. The only thing I'm a bit annoyed about is the fact that I have to go out and buy extra cables in order to be able to watch 1 channel while recording another !!... I though that was what Tivo did so I'm a bit annoyed that I'll have to pay extra for additional cables.

Other than that I'm pretty happy with how Tivo is working out.

Mark
mdglazerman is offline  
Old Mar 10th 2006, 6:10 pm
  #14  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Boiler's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 32,943
Boiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond reputeBoiler has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Another vote for the Disg $5 a month. Had a friend over the other night who had not seen it, so has signed up and we get a credit.

Need to check but I think you are on a 24 month contract, which we have nearly completed. Will hang on to it, but keep in mind we can always switch to Direct TV if we need to.
Boiler is offline  
Old Mar 10th 2006, 6:32 pm
  #15  
Lapine Member
 
snowbunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Austin, Texas in my own little world
Posts: 21,691
snowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond reputesnowbunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tivo

Originally Posted by Boiler
Another vote for the Disg $5 a month. Had a friend over the other night who had not seen it, so has signed up and we get a credit.

Need to check but I think you are on a 24 month contract, which we have nearly completed. Will hang on to it, but keep in mind we can always switch to Direct TV if we need to.
Trouble is we are tied to the cable company's broadband as our local phone company can't be arsed to provide DSL to us.

By the time you pay the broadband, it's cheaper to use the cable television vs satellite. Then when you do THAT, you're tied to their crappy Scientific Atlanta box.

If I can't own it and take it apart and hack on it, I don't want it.
snowbunny is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.