Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Thinking of moving to Short Hills NJ - Millburn Schools??

Thinking of moving to Short Hills NJ - Millburn Schools??

Old Jun 20th 2019, 6:04 pm
Just Joined

kikivoss is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Thinking of moving to Short Hills NJ - Millburn Schools??

Hi, I'm new to BE.

My husband has been offered a 3 year position in Manhattan and we are currently considering whether to make the move.
We are a family of 4 (plus dog!) mid 40's with 12 year old girl/boy twins who are currently in Year 7 in a private school in Colchester.

We are very lucky in that we will be given a healthy housing allowance for a rental for the 3 years, and as hubby would be located downtown we are basing our search in New Jersey, specifically Short Hills for the schools.
I had my heart set on Greenwich/Riverside/Cos Cob CT for a while but I understand the commute to downtown is not good, so NJ seemed a better bet location wise.

Hubby and I are planning a 'look see' visit early July to check out the areas, houses and schools (although I know they are now closed for the summer I'm trying to work out if there is anyone at the school during the summer that we can talk to).

Does anyone have experience of moving from the UK to Millburn schools and can offer thoughts on how they compare to UK private schools?

My other big concern is that after 3 years we will probably return to the UK and my children will re-enter the UK schooling system in Year 11 straight in to GCSE's, not great! I'm really worried that they would be at a disadvantage. Has anyone done this?

Thanks for any pointers, tips, advice etc!
Old Jun 20th 2019, 6:41 pm
SUPER MODERATOR