British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Teaching in Florida (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/teaching-florida-850810/)

fiken1 Jan 15th 2015 12:19 pm

Teaching in Florida

I am a Science/Chemistry teacher in Scotland and have been teaching since 2011. I have my Bsc then my post grad in teaching and now a masters in education. I have been looking to move to Florida and have heard from a couple of interested schools.

Could anyone who works in Florida give me an idea of whether it is a good move? Do you need to apply for certification before the visa? Does the certification process affect any visa you apply for? Even if it is simply a holiday visa?

Thanks in advance I hope to hear from you soon

Jerseygirl Jan 15th 2015 12:36 pm

Re: Teaching in Florida

Originally Posted by fiken1 (Post 11534336)
I am a Science/Chemistry teacher in Scotland and have been teaching since 2011. I have my Bsc then my post grad in teaching and now a masters in education. I have been looking to move to Florida and have heard from a couple of interested schools.

Could anyone who works in Florida give me an idea of whether it is a good move? Do you need to apply for certification before the visa? Does the certification process affect any visa you apply for? Even if it is simply a holiday visa?

Thanks in advance I hope to hear from you soon

Welcome to BE.

You cannot apply the visa...your prospective employer does.

fiken1 Jan 15th 2015 12:38 pm

So does that mean I have to secure the job first? So then have to complete certification first?

The Principal I spoke to told me they need a visa first

Very confusing

AlphaTangoMike Jan 15th 2015 12:38 pm

Hi Fiken1.

Your post isn't very clear.

I would suggest that you take a look at this WIKI and then post any follow-up questions that you may have:
Pulaski's Ways: How to Live and Work in the USA : British Expat Wiki

Points to note: