British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Teachers being hired (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/teachers-being-hired-897541/)

Rwley1982 Jun 2nd 2017 3:29 pm

Teachers being hired

Afternoon all,

I've been around the forum a while but this is my first US post.

Does anyone know of any success in teachers moving to the US? I've read lots online that there's a huge shortage and have had to hire from non English speaking countries but I can't find any further info. The only thing I can see is the VIF programme which appears language based which isn't my area at all.

I understand getting a work visa is nigh on impossible for the majority but I thought it was worth the ask.

Just for more information my wife is a primary teacher and I am an FE/HE lecturer in social sciences and law. We would like to move abroad and are just considering options at the moment.

Any experiences or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

celticgrid Jun 2nd 2017 4:59 pm

Re: Teachers being hired

Originally Posted by Rwley1982 (Post 12264786)
I've read lots online that there's a huge shortage and have had to hire from non English speaking countries

Where have you read this?

Rwley1982 Jun 2nd 2017 5:05 pm

Originally Posted by celticgrid (Post 12264846)
Where have you read this?

http://www.clarionledger.com/story/news/2015/12/19/mississippi-foreign-teachers-visas/76924408/

It's a bit out of date but I'm sure I've read something more recent. Just couldn't see it on a quick search.

The shortage also appears to be continuing.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/10/18/americas-growing-teaching-shortage-how-it-looks-state-by-state/

Noorah101 Jun 2nd 2017 5:08 pm

As you noted, it might be easy enough to get a teaching prospect, but actually getting a school to sponsor your work visa is very difficult. Would have to be a private school.

Rene

Rwley1982 Jun 2nd 2017 5:19 pm