Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Tax - UK/US dual status residency, self employment, totalization agreement

Tax - UK/US dual status residency, self employment, totalization agreement

Old Feb 8th 2024, 1:00 am
Just Joined

raggedyak is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Tax - UK/US dual status residency, self employment, totalization agreement

Another tax topic...

Background: I moved to the US from the UK in mid 2023. Prior to moving, I worked as an IT contractor through a UK limited company where I was the sole director. I will likely file as dual-status, but the UK limited company received payment of some invoices after I arrived in the US - unfortunately it was not possible to obtain payment of the invoices prior to emigrating. (Invoices were for work done prior to emigrating.) I will likely elect to treat the limited company as a foreign disregarded entity. If so, all company income will be treated as my personal income, less UK corporation taxes paid. (I took a salary from the limited company so I was liable for national insurance payments in the UK.)

It appears that the income received after I arrived in the US is subject to US self-employment taxation.

I am looking into whether I am eligible for relief from US self-employment tax due to the totalization agreement between the UK and the US. However, it is not clear if the totalization agreement still applies once I became a resident of the US, and I can't find much information about dual residency.

Worst case I will bite the bullet and pay the US self employment tax on the income received after I arrived here, but needless to say this is a last resort!

Does anyone have any experience of navigating this topic?

Thanks.
Old Feb 9th 2024, 3:01 am
Forum Regular

jb82 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Tax - UK/US dual status residency, self employment, totalization agreement