Reload this Page >

Tax question

Tax question

Old Jan 18th 2019, 3:44 pm
Forum Regular

Alba2018 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax question

Hi Group

Background: My fiancé (USC) who I’ll marry (UKC) within 2 weeks in US is unemployed (for a few years) due to a progressive illness. She has applied for disability however it’s a very long process I gather. She currently owes back taxes. I’ve been covering both US and UK expenses for both homes for about 12 months.

My questions ...

1. Could owing back taxes hamper CR-1 process? We’ll have a joint sponsor.
2. Will I be liable for her back taxes when we marry?
3. Will the money I’ve sent from UK to cover US bills be classed as income and thus be declared on her new tax return in US?
4. I’ve heard the IRS could put a lien on her home. How would that work? Would this essentially be a loan on top of existing mortgage that we’d pay or IRS recover funds when property is sold?

Many thanks
Old Jan 18th 2019, 3:55 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Hotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Tax question

1. I don't think so. Not because of debt, and you do have a joint sponsor for living expenses?
2. No. But if you file married jointly any refund could be seized for back taxes.
3. No. If you were a US tax resident you'd be the one to pay taxes on gifts but sounds like you're not?
4. A lien would stop you selling the property until the lien is cleared.

If you are really concerned please talk to the IRS about a payment plan or something.
In the long run it's better to square with them and they have mechanisms for situations like this.