British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Tax Implications - UK FBAR? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/tax-implications-uk-fbar-849428/)

DTLVbrit Dec 24th 2014 11:38 pm

Tax Implications - UK FBAR?

Hey all - just returned to the U.S. after an early Christmas back with my parents in the UK. While there, my Dad was asking me about FACTA and what that means. For me, I have a UK current/checking account that I use to for when I travel to the UK and to make payments to my student loan. There is never more than £100 in there at any point so I don't file FBAR or 8938. I came away with two questions:

1 - I'm a non UK tax resident (I am a UK citizen who has been a permanent resident in the US for 7 years and work for a U.S. company in the US) so I do not report or pay any UK tax as I have no UK income. Does the UK have a equivalent of the FBAR or form 8938 where I would need to report my US bank accounts? I wouldn't think so as UK citizens aren't taxed like that once they become a non resident for tax purposes.

2 - I have started to transfer around $50-$70 a month to my UK current account to pay my student loans through direct debit (was doing it via my US credit card before but didn't like the fees). As a non UK tax resident, I would assume that money I transfer to that UK account wouldn't be taxable in the UK, right? It's not income from a UK source and it's already been taxed by my US employer already.

Thanks for any insight - this stuff always makes me feel somewhat anxious and I would love to have some answers so I can relax :)

Happy Christmas!

robin1234 Dec 24th 2014 11:49 pm

Re: Tax Implications - UK FBAR?

You didn't say, but I'm assuming this account doesn't pay any interest? If you earn no interest, then there are no US tax implications. With low balances, no US FBAR reporting either.