Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Stocks and Shares ISA

Stocks and Shares ISA

Old Mar 4th 2019, 9:23 pm
Just Joined

Chris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond reputeChris_NYC has a reputation beyond repute
Default Stocks and Shares ISA

I am a US resident with a legacy UK Stocks and Shares ISA with underlying OEIC investments. The ISA provider has recently changed its policy and now requires US Persons to sell or transfer all OEIC investments. This is not a FATCA issue (as ISAs are FATCA exempt) but a policy change by the ISA provider who is responding to feedback from its fund managers (as least that's what it's told me). I am neither resident nor ordinarily resident in the UK and don't want to sell the investments at this time as this will incur significant additional US costs and expenses.

Does anyone know of any UK ISA providers who are willing to accept UK non-residents for a transfer of an existing Stocks and Shares ISA?

If a transfer does not take place within 60 days, the ISA provider has informed me that they will just sell/liquidate the investments without consent. Has this happened to anyone else?

Any thoughts welcome. I'm happy to post any developments back to the forum as I learn more.
Old Mar 4th 2019, 9:33 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace