Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Social Security Treaty

Social Security Treaty

Old Aug 13th 2007, 6:33 pm
Just Joined

Groover is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Social Security Treaty

Background: I moved from the UK when I graduated so I haven't paid into the UK system at all. I am nearly at 10 years of paying into the US system and I am now a dual citizen. I'm currently thinking of moving back to the UK in the next five years.

It seems to me that if I move back to the UK and pay into the UK scheme then the following happens:

1. I stay in the UK until retirement - my US payments are credited to my UK pension.

2. I return to the US by retirement age - my UK payments are credited to my US social security.

3. Either situation - I have worked 10 years in the US making payments and meeting the minimum requirements (40 quarters). I will also meet the minimum requirements in the UK after moving back. So I can choose to receive two pensions - one from each country - instead of having one country apply credits to the other.

Is this correct? If so it seems a bit pointless to bother with voluntary NI payments. Also can I really choose whether to apply credits from one country to the other or have two pensions?

Incidentally I found the SSA website to be much more useful regarding information on the treaty than any UK government websites.

Andy
Old Aug 13th 2007, 6:53 pm
Ping-ponger

dunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond reputedunroving has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Social Security Treaty

Originally Posted by Groover