Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Sky TV in USA?

Sky TV in USA?

Closed Thread

Old May 18th 2004, 5:26 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
John Murray's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 150
John Murray will become famous soon enoughJohn Murray will become famous soon enough
Default Sky TV in USA?

Is there any way of receiving UK Sky tv in USA? I am moving in June, and was considering bringing my sky digital digibox and card, if there is any way I could use it to pick upsome freeview channels which I might not get with dish/directTV or - if I keep the subscription going and hook it up to a satelite dish in US would I pick up any channels??
John Murray is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 5:31 pm
  #2  
Pagan Sex God
 
Patrick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Living in Oblivion
Posts: 3,668
Patrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV in USA?

Originally posted by John Murray
Is there any way of receiving UK Sky tv in USA? I am moving in June, and was considering bringing my sky digital digibox and card, if there is any way I could use it to pick upsome freeview channels which I might not get with dish/directTV or - if I keep the subscription going and hook it up to a satelite dish in US would I pick up any channels??
well at least he's going to Texas
Patrick is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 5:32 pm
  #3  
@matthewb76
 
Manc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 21,886
Manc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV in USA?

Originally posted by John Murray
Is there any way of receiving UK Sky tv in USA? I am moving in June, and was considering bringing my sky digital digibox and card, if there is any way I could use it to pick upsome freeview channels which I might not get with dish/directTV or - if I keep the subscription going and hook it up to a satelite dish in US would I pick up any channels??
no.
Manc is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 5:38 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
veryfunny's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: California b4 Colorado b4 Valley of plastic and sand, b4 London
Posts: 2,019
veryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond reputeveryfunny has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV in USA?

Originally posted by John Murray
Is there any way of receiving UK Sky tv in USA? I am moving in June, and was considering bringing my sky digital digibox and card, if there is any way I could use it to pick upsome freeview channels which I might not get with dish/directTV or - if I keep the subscription going and hook it up to a satelite dish in US would I pick up any channels??
You are better off getting the direct tv much cheaper. 4 decoder sets for about $40.00 and some come with harddisk drives.
veryfunny is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 5:52 pm
  #5  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,113
Pimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

My advice would be to buy a huge satalite dish. My brother can pick up quite a few US channels from the UK, so maybe you can pick up the UK channels in the US with a big enough dish.

Failing that, you can watch Sky sports news on Fox world sports net at 4pm every day.
Pimpbot is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 6:00 pm
  #6  
100% Pure
 
DaveC's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX.
Posts: 1,185
DaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond reputeDaveC has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by Pimpbot
My advice would be to buy a huge satalite dish. My brother can pick up quite a few US channels from the UK, so maybe you can pick up the UK channels in the US with a big enough dish.

Failing that, you can watch Sky sports news on Fox world sports net at 4pm every day.
It's on at 6pm in Texas, Pimpbot.

It would have to be a big dish, as the footprint of the Sky Satellite transmission will be optimised for Europe. Scottish viewers used to need bigger dishes than their English neighbours as the signal was weaker up North. Dunno if that's still the case.
DaveC is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 6:05 pm
  #7  
BE Forum Addict
 
USBound's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, Il
Posts: 1,320
USBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond repute
Default

there are lots of websites that tell you the footprint of various satelite broadcasts. my father uses a multi-sat system in the UK and knows a lot more about it than me but from what I know... you won't pickup any European satelite transmissions from the European Satelites.. possibly somewhere is bouncing them tho?
USBound is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 6:59 pm
  #8  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,113
Pimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I thought the footprint was smaller before they switched over to the digital service?. I remember my uncle having a huge dish back before Sky started with channels like Screensport and lifestyle that had womens wrestlin We got our first dish about 2 weeks after Sky first launched.
Pimpbot is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 7:06 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,113
Pimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Ok, just found the footprints

Astra south.
Attached Thumbnails Sky TV in USA?-astra-2-south.jpg  
Pimpbot is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 7:07 pm
  #10  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,113
Pimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Astra North.
Attached Thumbnails Sky TV in USA?-astra-2-north.jpg  
Pimpbot is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 7:22 pm
  #11  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,113
Pimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond reputePimpbot has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Would it be beyond the realms of possibility, that another satellite could bounce the signel off the astra satellite so if you had the right dish and LNB you could receive a tv picture beamed direct from the U.K. here in the States?. I know my brothers dish could pick up the American version of CNN and ESPN plus a few of the network TV stations. You could pick up all kinds of feeds from news channels, like reporters waiting to go on air. Infact during the war in Iraq, he could listen to a Sky team somewhere in the middle of the desert talking to their producers back in the U.K. about when they were going to air their report. He also stumbled across a live feed directly after the spanish train bombings that according to him was rather grusome, as they were zooming right into the torn apart trains.
Pimpbot is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 7:53 pm
  #12  
Ray
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 68,280
Ray has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond reputeRay has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sky TV in USA?

Originally posted by John Murray
Is there any way of receiving UK Sky tv in USA? I am moving in June, and was considering bringing my sky digital digibox and card, if there is any way I could use it to pick upsome freeview channels which I might not get with dish/directTV or - if I keep the subscription going and hook it up to a satelite dish in US would I pick up any channels??
Yup you bring it ..could be very useful for something...
Ray is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 8:22 pm
  #13  
Pagan Sex God
 
Patrick's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Living in Oblivion
Posts: 3,668
Patrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond reputePatrick has a reputation beyond repute
Default

bring your car stereo as well so you can pick up radio one
Patrick is offline  
Old May 18th 2004, 8:26 pm
  #14  
@matthewb76
 
Manc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 21,886
Manc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally posted by Patrick
bring your car stereo as well so you can pick up radio one
Manc is offline  
Old May 19th 2004, 1:32 am
  #15  
BE Enthusiast
 
jaytee's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Birmingham, USA
Posts: 802
jaytee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Sky TV in USA?

Originally posted by John Murray
Is there any way of receiving UK Sky tv in USA? I am moving in June, and was considering bringing my sky digital digibox and card, if there is any way I could use it to pick upsome freeview channels which I might not get with dish/directTV or - if I keep the subscription going and hook it up to a satelite dish in US would I pick up any channels??
no, I wish. It's well outside the coverage area. It's all cable or digital cable here anyway, unless you want to go with directTV packages.
jaytee is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement