Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Single parent moving to USA

Single parent moving to USA

Old May 3rd 2020, 6:13 am
Just Joined

mrsBell is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Single parent moving to USA

I have seen an amazing job opportunity in Portland Oregon.

I am a teacher with two young kids and a single mum.

My question is: after I’ve done the calculations for paying taxes on the salary. My take home wage would be $35,000 a year.

Is that enough to live on? I don’t want to even get my hopes up for moving If I can’t afford live.

I currently live in France so childcare isn’t expensive here (I am a British citizen)

Thanks in advance for your replies.
Old May 3rd 2020, 6:30 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace

scot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond reputescot47 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Single parent moving to USA

Visa ? Will you get one ?
Old May 3rd 2020, 6:33 am
Just Joined

mrsBell is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by scot47
Visa ? Will you get one ?
yes I think. If I secure the job and I have the qualifications to pass the visa requirements.
Old May 3rd 2020, 7:41 am
BE Forum Addict

carcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond reputecarcajou has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by mrsBell