Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Shannon Airport

Shannon Airport

Old Apr 13th 2011, 11:43 am
  #16  
BE Forum Addict
 
rpjs's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Sleepy Hollow, New York
Posts: 2,509
rpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond reputerpjs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

I flew one-way with Aer Lingus Manchester-Dublin-JFK a month ago and it was pretty good. The Manchester-Dublin leg was a quick half-hour flight in a low-cost style plane (leather seats, no IFE, cash bar and food service) but the transatlantic leg was pretty comfy, an excellent on-demand IFE and good service with edible food. The only minus point was alcoholic drinks aren't complimentary. I'd rate it as good as BA or Virgin and better than the US carriers.

I've heard that having US pre-clearance in Ireland started back when all transatlantic flights had to refuel at Shannon. The pre-clearance is a real boon - as I was travelling with carry-on only it meant I was through the terminal and with OH within about 5-10 mins of the seatbelt light going out. I'd fly with EI again for that reason alone.

Last edited by rpjs; Apr 13th 2011 at 11:46 am.
rpjs is offline  
Old Apr 13th 2011, 3:36 pm
  #17  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
Tyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really niceTyrone is just really nice
Default Re: Shannon Airport

I've heard that having US pre-clearance in Ireland started back when all transatlantic flights had to refuel at Shannon.

That is my understanding and also all Aeroflot flights were also processed through Shannon Customs - the idea was to relieve the backup at JFK.
Tyrone is offline  
Old Apr 13th 2011, 9:53 pm
  #18  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Location: CHELTENHAM, Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 1,494
Lothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond reputeLothianlad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

When using the Channel Tunnel in your car via the trains that transport you still inside in your car from the French side to the British, you go through the UK Border Agency Passport Control checks, staffed by British UK Border Agency officials, at Calais before you join the train. There is no similar non British equivalent at Folkestone, but there again it is all one sided anyway - only the UK insists on all the usual passport and customs checks for all travellers entering the UK by train, ferry or air, irrespective of whether they are arriving from other EU countries or anywhere else outside the EU.
Lothianlad is offline  
Old Apr 13th 2011, 11:40 pm
  #19  
Septic Sprout
 
tonrob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7,983
tonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Originally Posted by Lothianlad View Post
When using the Channel Tunnel in your car via the trains that transport you still inside in your car from the French side to the British, you go through the UK Border Agency Passport Control checks, staffed by British UK Border Agency officials, at Calais before you join the train. There is no similar non British equivalent at Folkestone, but there again it is all one sided anyway - only the UK insists on all the usual passport and customs checks for all travellers entering the UK by train, ferry or air, irrespective of whether they are arriving from other EU countries or anywhere else outside the EU.
That's interesting. What the **** has it got to do with this thread?
tonrob is offline  
Old Apr 14th 2011, 4:37 am
  #20  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 22,105
AmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Originally Posted by tonrob View Post
That's interesting. What the **** has it got to do with this thread?
AmerLisa is offline  
Old Apr 14th 2011, 5:51 pm
  #21  
Septic Sprout
 
tonrob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7,983
tonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Originally Posted by tonrob View Post
That's interesting. What the **** has it got to do with this thread?
Rete would have let that by...
tonrob is offline  
Old Apr 14th 2011, 8:25 pm
  #22  
Forum Regular
 
andy1's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 167
andy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really niceandy1 is just really nice
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Because the U.S. funded the IRA..
andy1 is offline  
Old Apr 15th 2011, 4:08 pm
  #23  
BE Commentator
 
S Folinsky's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 7,164
S Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond reputeS Folinsky has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Originally Posted by Tyrone View Post
I've heard that having US pre-clearance in Ireland started back when all transatlantic flights had to refuel at Shannon.

That is my understanding and also all Aeroflot flights were also processed through Shannon Customs - the idea was to relieve the backup at JFK.
The Pan-Am Clipper started off with stops at Foynes on the the Shannon Estuary and Botwood, Newfoundland. After the second World War, the stops were at Shannon and Gander. In regards to Aeroflot, during the Cold War, it was important that Ireland was not part of NATO.

Now that airliners have sufficient range, the airports at Shannon and Gander are not as necessary as they used to be.

I believe the Irish government is interested in keeping Shannon busy and the US government is interested in keeping Shannon as a transit point for US military transportation flights.

As an aside regarding the other side of the world, Wake Island is no longer a refueling point. Neither is Midway.
S Folinsky is offline  
Old Apr 15th 2011, 4:18 pm
  #24  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 22,105
AmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond reputeAmerLisa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Originally Posted by tonrob View Post
Rete would have let that by...
Would or wouldn't have?
AmerLisa is offline  
Old Apr 21st 2011, 1:53 pm
  #25  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
qprchris is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Shannon Airport

Good old Shannon Airport, where the local time is 1972.

Originally Posted by S Folinsky View Post
Now that airliners have sufficient range, the airports at Shannon and Gander are not as necessary as they used to be.
Most have sufficient range - except the tiny one BA use from London City Airport to JFK and also like to rather ingeniously avail of the immigration facilities;

http://www.britishairways.com/travel...n/public/en_gb

Little bit more about the US border pre-clearance, still very much fully operating;

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shannon..._Pre-clearance

oh, and hello to everyone by the way!
qprchris is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.