rootless!

Old Apr 27th 2006, 7:05 am
Forum Regular

DarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of lightDarrenP is a glorious beacon of light
Unhappy rootless!

Hey all, newbie here. I just stumbled across these forums googling earlier, and they look to be a really valuable resource. I wish I'd found them sooner!

I'm 36 years old, been in California for 6 years. Londoner originally. I'm a computer graphic artist and currently doing very well with my career, working for the biggest videogame publisher in the world. But working insane hours as that's just the nature of the industry I'm in and Silicon valley. I have a good visa (O-1) that's good for another 4 years. So 'on paper' life should be golden.

However, deep down I am desperately unhappy (I would go so far as saying depressed actually but I hide it well at work and out socially etc) and can't seem to reach any conclusions about my future. I have a big family in the UK that I'm really close with. I get back once a year for a couple of weeks at the most, but I'm also embarrassed to admit that I loathe to fly, so I find getting on that flight incredibly hard.