Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Removal of conditions queries

Removal of conditions queries

Old Aug 8th 2012, 3:28 pm
Forum Regular

WVDreamer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Removal of conditions queries

I have been a conditional permanent resident since November last year. I applied through a marriage based visa via a adjustment of status. Everything went great and we sailed through the interview.

My greencard is good upto November 2013 and I know I have to do the removal process to get a ten year greencard.

My questions are:

1. Is the removal process similar to the AOS interview etc? If so do I need the same type of proof that we showed during our interview or do we need 'new' proof since the time I got the greencard.

2. Is this something we can do ourselves and not get a lawyer, ideally i'd rather not get a lawyer. Our lawyer gave us a copy of all the forms she submitted during our AOS process and I was surprised at home relatively simple it was.

3. I did overstay my visa waiver before going the AOS route. This was never a issue during the AOS interview, will it be now?

If anyone has any tips or advice regarding this process it would be great. I remember our lawyer said we wouldn't have any issues (my wife and I are still together lol) but I am a bit of a worrier, especially as immigration seems to be such a hot potato in the USA at the moment.
Old Aug 8th 2012, 3:39 pm

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Removal of conditions queries

Originally Posted by WVDreamer