Reload this Page >

Reimporting a 2003 300M to California from Canada

Reimporting a 2003 300M to California from Canada

Old Oct 11th 2013, 4:26 am
Just Joined

Nick Ball is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Reimporting a 2003 300M to California from Canada

Hi,

I would like to reimport my American 2003 Chrysler 300M from Canada to California to do a dealer trade in. I plan to drive it myself, entering at Port Angeles. It is 132,000 miles (which is why no one would buy it), but the dealer has guaranteed trade in. I have all the documents for it: bill of sale (used, 2006), proof it was US registered, Canada registration, service history since 2006. I am a non-US resident already there on an H-1B visa. I'm not worried by paying duty, although I don't believe that applies since the car is American.

Three questions:

- Does it meet California emissions standards, and is this relevant for a trade in? It doesn't have modifications such as a different catalyst, AFAIK.
- Import information states "To safeguard against importation of dangerous pests, the U.S. Department of Agriculture requires that the undercarriage of imported cars be free of foreign soil. Have your car steam-sprayed or cleaned thoroughly before shipment." What, exactly, does this mean? Will a regular car wash or auto detailing place conform to this? Or is there something specific I must prove? Does it even apply since I am not shipping it, but driving it?
- Anything else I could get caught by?

I appreciate this may not be a clear-cut question, but any insight, such as "probably OK", or "definitely not, unless ..." would be helpful.

Thanks,

Nick
Old Oct 11th 2013, 5:56 am
Lost in BE Cyberspace