Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Registered Nurse- with job opportunity to work as Nurse Assistant

Registered Nurse- with job opportunity to work as Nurse Assistant

Old Dec 9th 2017, 9:45 pm
Just Joined

Nrimmer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Registered Nurse- with job opportunity to work as Nurse Assistant

Looking for some advice about moving to the US- possibly from someone who has made the move, is a nurse and/or has worked in the US before receiving their RN license in the US.
I am a registered nurse in the UK, qualified in 2011 and have four and a half years post registration experience. I’d like to make the move to the US to gain further experience and work temporarily over there. I have a job offer to work as an RN or as a CNA (Nurse Assistant) while I am waiting for my nursing license.
The employer is willing to complete the petition however I’m not sure what type of petition to apply for if i don’t already have my registration in the US.

Is there anyone who has had a similar experience? Any tips or advice?
Old Dec 9th 2017, 10:03 pm
BE Forum Addict

tom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond reputetom169 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Registered Nurse- with job opportunity to work as Nurse Assistant

You can't work as a CNA or an RN in the US without a licence. The licence is from the state and so it can vary.

I'm not sure what experience, if any at all, an RN would gain from being a CNA. My wife was a CNA before going through nursing school to become an RN and it wouldn't make sense for her now to go backwards.