Reload this Page >

Really settled now!

Really settled now!

Old Sep 26th 2012, 6:36 pm
Account Closed

treasuredr is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Really settled now!

Hi,

Newbie here! I just wanted to share the fact that I feel that I have now made my move a permanent one. Have been living in South West Virginia for 3 years and this year got my 10 yr green card and will have my citizenship interview in October. To cap it off, I've sold my house in the UK and am about to close on a property here. It's been a busy year selling the UK home, with buyers pulling out at the last minute and my final buyer (no.3), holding me to ransom for a lower price the day before exchange. What a refreshing and fast system we have here by comparison!

I went back to the UK the first week of September to finalize the house sale and for my daughter's graduation and one thing that had me worried was that I might feel homesick (1st visit back). Sadly to say, I didn't one bit. Just felt that the place (Reading) looked really sad, a bit dirty and very overcrowded. By the end of the week I was looking forward to coming home to Virginia. I guess I've got used to a much slower pace of life.

However I won't say that putting down such permenant roots here isn't overwhelming! But being in our 50's and both my husband and I lucky to have jobs here, it makes no sense to uproot and rock the boat. There's no realistic chance of a job in the UK anyways for our age group I feel.

Hope to make some new friends here on this forum - that's one thing I've found difficult about moving here, leaving long time friends with mutual history and trying to make new ones.

Thanks for listening!
Old Sep 26th 2012, 6:50 pm
Rootbeeraholic