British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Realistic or pessimistic (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/realistic-pessimistic-721581/)

siandavies Jun 19th 2011 8:58 pm

Realistic or pessimistic

Hi,

I live in the UK and have been dating my US boyfriend for 18mths. He lives in Manhattan. I work as an environmental consultant here in the UK. We want to live together in Manhattan however, the more research I do the less likely it looks as though it will happen without our marrying first. Everything I have read says that recruiters are unlikely to take you seriously unless you are already living in the city and is it right that there are visa caps?

My partner thinks I am being 'glass half empty' but as I see it, the job market is tough anyway, and it will be even more difficult trying to find a company to sponsor me whilst I am still in the UK.

I'm not really sure what to do and whilst I know no one can tell me what direction to go in, I wondered if anyone could give me the benefit of their experience. I am doing well at my job in the UK, working hard and progressing, well thought of but I'm not sure how well this would transfer to the US job market and I am nervous about quitting my job here and moving over without any savings. Does anyone know what skills the US is seeking?

Any advice or opinions would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!

Bob Jun 19th 2011 9:54 pm

Re: Realistic or pessimistic

Welcome to BE!

And you're right, it is tough here, without the right to work, or US experience.

So get married would be your best bet...really depends what actually you do for work and who would sponsor you, but without US experience, it sounds like slim pickings.

scrubbedexpat099 Jun 19th 2011 9:55 pm

Originally Posted by siandavies (Post 9443007)
Hi,