British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Question about UK driving licence in the U.S (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/question-about-uk-driving-licence-u-s-759131/)

AbbeyR94 May 22nd 2012 11:39 am

Question about UK driving licence in the U.S

Hello everyone I have a question regarding driving on a UK driving licence in the states, just as an overview of my situation i'm currently living in the UK, I'm a full time student and have been planning on relocating to Houston, TX with my family during the summer as my father has been transfered to another company over there, anyway all of our visa's and legal documents are sorted to move.( Can't wait!!:thumbsup:) I have just recently passed my theory test and am sitting my practical driving test mid June (which i hope to pass first time!) and I would like to know if I would be able to drive and get insured on my parents car straight away when i move to Houston without my licence and use the pass certificate the DSA or DVLA give you once you have passed as they take up to a couple of weeks to issue the full licence, otherwise I have to put off the move for a couple of more weeks to wait for my licence to come through the post. A few more questions I have is : If I am aloud to use my pass certificate will it supply the correct information to allow me to be insured? If I get pulled over by the police will they accept it?
Thanks in advance
Abbey :)

lisa67 May 22nd 2012 12:03 pm

Re: Question about UK driving licence in the U.S

Originally Posted by AbbeyR94 (Post 10075462)