Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Qualifications

Qualifications

Old Oct 20th 2013, 11:46 am
Just Joined

lukenobrains is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Qualifications

I am going to be moving to the states to be with my fiance in the next 18 months... She has moved back there 2 months ago when she finished University.
We will be getting married within 6 months of me getting there so I will be first going on a fiance visa and then swapping to a marriage visa.

We have set the date of by summer 2015 because I am currently in the british army, this will give me lots of time to save up before leaving the army and moving over... My question here is that i am a mechanic in the army...
I have an NVQ level 3 in mechanics, but I don't think that means anything in the US as it's an NVQ not IVQ. Has anyone else had similar issues with transfering qualifications? I will want to get a job fairly sharpish after getting there and so I will need suitable quals....

Thanks
Luke
Old Oct 20th 2013, 11:59 am
Often not so civil...

civilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond reputecivilservant has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Qualifications

You will need to be married within 90 days after entering on the K1, there is no movement on that. 6 months would leave you out of status. After marrying you will Adjust Status to Permanent Resident (aka Green Card) not 'swap to a marriage visa' as a visa is an entry document and you will already be in the US.