British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Pregnant but no health insurance (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/pregnant-but-no-health-insurance-802787/)

Jhutchnz Jul 13th 2013 6:16 pm

Pregnant but no health insurance

Its taking me a lot to come on here and seek advice, so please be kind.
I have been married 5 years to my wonderful USC husband. We have 1 beautiful daughter and all is well.
3.5 years qgo he was diagnosed with cancer and since then he has beat it and is in remission. Following that he was forced to leave his gr8 paying job and get another due to stress (it was affecting his health) and drama at the job.

I have a degree in HR and finance but after 2008 couldnt find a job so went to get my masters in teaching which I am almost complete with (should graduate summer 2014)
I have no family here and my husbands family live in a different state.
Ive said all that to say that I just found out that I am pregnant (which is always a blessing), I have minimal insurance (for school purposes) and now my husband and is looking to put me on his insurance. The deductable is 2500$ and I know we cant afford that on our income. I dont qualify for medicaid cos I havent been a resident for 5 years (its 4) and ive researched ways I can pay out of pocket but the cheapest ive found is a home birth at 2400$ all inclusive.

My last option would be to go home to the UK, if that is an option..but b4 I do that, I just wanted to know if there was anyone out there who has been through this. The first birth was fine because we had insurance at 100%, but now I feel alone and nowhere to turn, this is the first time I have verbalized the fact that I am expecting...not even my family knows

Please dont be harsh., thanks for ur advice in advance.
And sorry for the long thread.

sir_eccles Jul 13th 2013 6:40 pm

Re: Pregnant but no health insurance