Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

petition leads to interdiction?

petition leads to interdiction?

Old Jun 28th 2002, 10:29 am
Just Joined

kiwy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default petition leads to interdiction?

Is it true that if I file a I-130 petition for my 22 y.o. unmarried son, he will not be able to enter the US becose of an "immigration attempt", even as a tourist or a PhD student? I am a permanent resident and maybe a citizen soon. Does the participation at the Diversity Visa lottery program count as an "immigration attempt" ?

Thanks in advance.
Old Jun 28th 2002, 5:20 pm
Joachim Feise

Default Re: petition leads to interdiction?

kiwy wrote:
    > Is it true that if I file a I-130 petition for my 22 y.o. unmarried son, he will
    > not be able to enter the US becose of an "immigration attempt", even as a tourist
    > or a PhD student?

Yes. Most non-immigrant visas, including visitor and student visas, do not allow
immigration intent. The only non-immigrant visas that allow immigration intent are
the temporary work visas in the H1-B and L1 category.

> I am a permanent resident and maybe a citizen soon. Does the participation at the
    > Diversity Visa lottery program count as an "immigration attempt" ?

Not sure about that.

-Joe

Old Jun 28th 2002, 10:20 pm
Shelley

"kiwy" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > Is it true that if I file a I-130 petition for my 22 y.o. unmarried son, he will
    > not be able to enter the US becose of an "immigration attempt", even as a tourist
    > or a PhD student?

With an F1 visa or an H1B visa he shouldn't have any problems entering the US. But he
may have difficulty entering the US as a tourist because the I-130 shows immigrant
intent. If he plans to come to the US to visit, he should carry plenty of proof that
he plans to return home.

> I am a permanent resident and maybe a citizen soon. Does the participation at the