Permenant Legal Residence - Stay outside USA

Wikiposts

Permenant Legal Residence - Stay outside USA

Old Dec 8th 2010, 1:07 am
Just Joined

Jimmy100 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Permenant Legal Residence - Stay outside USA

Hello,

I am a permanent legal resident in USA. I need to stay outside of USA for family reasons for longer then 6 months.

My question is if i were to stay out for longer then 6 months like 7-8 months, would it be an immigration issue for me to get back into the country.

What does the immigration law says in this situation ?

Jimmy
Old Dec 8th 2010, 1:24 am

Noorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond reputeNoorah101 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Permenant Legal Residence - Stay outside USA

Originally Posted by Jimmy100
My question is if i were to stay out for longer then 6 months like 7-8 months, would it be an immigration issue for me to get back into the country.
Possibly. It depends on the circumstances. Each case of abandonment is individual, there's not just one rule.

You probably want to have a 1-time consultation with an immigration attorney who can tell you what the law says and what the consequences are. In the meantime, have a look at the USCIS Guide to Naturalization (which does not cover the issue of abandonment, but discusses how being away over 6 months might affect your future naturalization).

Rene
Old Dec 8th 2010, 1:25 am
Account Closed