British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   passport (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/passport-760639/)

janine74 Jun 4th 2012 7:23 pm

passport

Hello I am a UK citizen permanent resident in AZ. I have two questions. my son was born here and I have been here for 30 years. I hold a british passport and I heard I could get my son a british passport. I have already got him a US one. Is there a way to get him a british one? also mine expired in 1995. yes a long time ago i have never been back to visit but i am going to in the next year. Do i renew mine or do i have to apply for one?
I appreciate any feedback possible

Jerseygirl Jun 4th 2012 7:35 pm

Re: passport

Originally Posted by janine74 (Post 10099830)
Hello I am a UK citizen permanent resident in AZ. I have two questions. my son was born here and I have been here for 30 years. I hold a british passport and I heard I could get my son a british passport. I have already got him a US one. Is there a way to get him a british one? also mine expired in 1995. yes a long time ago i have never been back to visit but i am going to in the next year. Do i renew mine or do i have to apply for one?
I appreciate any feedback possible

Hello and welcome to BE.

Are you a UK citizen or a UK citizen by descent? If you are not a UKC by descent then depending on the year your son was born...he may be a UKC by descent. Please provide the on the above information to assist us in helping you.

You can renew your UK passport...I presume you still have your old UK PP...it should be sent with the application form and fee.

janine74 Jun 4th 2012 7:40 pm

no i was born in manchester. came here when i was 8 i am 38 and have held my GC for the thirty years because i would like to move back there someday. but i am wondering since my son has a US passport already would that affect the ability to have a UK one now? and how would i do it?
thanks!:D