Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Overstay and Grace Period

Overstay and Grace Period

Old Jul 29th 2004, 9:35 am
Just Joined

Sano is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Overstay and Grace Period

I'm Japanese and I entered the US under F-1 status. At the End of May I graduated from a community college. At the end of June I got married with an American. I talked about this with my student advisor and she said that my I-20 will terminate in September, because of the fact that I had to move to a different place I have not yet started my Green Card process. However on July 21st I got an e-mail from my student advisor saying that my I-20 was terminated and so now I think I'm overstaying for one week. I'm not sure If I have a grace period from my graduation date(May 28th) or from the date my I-20 was terminated(July 21st). Could you tell if you know about this? I would like to go home and do my green card from Japan instead if I am still legal.
Old Jul 29th 2004, 12:35 pm
Not living a 9 to 5 life

NC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond reputeNC Penguin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Overstay and Grace Period

Originally posted by Sano