Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Oooh Sir, Suits you Sir!

Oooh Sir, Suits you Sir!

Old Apr 21st 2004, 4:45 pm
BE Enthusiast

whatever will become famous soon enoughwhatever will become famous soon enough
Default Oooh Sir, Suits you Sir!

Do city workers or rather office workers wear shirt, tie and suits in the hot summer months in the South?
I realise that they will all be freezing if anything from the A/C but just wanted to know whether the office will be full of 'Suits' like in London or if it's more common to see professionals in short sleeved shirts and no tie.
Old Apr 21st 2004, 5:26 pm
Carrot Cruncher

pilgrim22 is an unknown quantity at this point

Depends on what line of work you do... if you're in sales or deal with customers a lot face-to-face, suit and tie is the norm. But the people who work in the trenches (cube farms) are mostly "business casual", which itself has a variety of meanings. I work in IT and most cube farms i've worked at have been business casual, i.e. Dockers (Chinos) and a decent golf-shirt or T-shirt with collar. Some places are totally casual, i.e. wear what you want, within reason, although where my father-in-law works, they wear whatever they want whether reasonable or not (flip-flops, shorts in the summer). But this seems to be the exception rather than the norm... they are "creative" people after all!

p22
Old Apr 21st 2004, 7:22 pm
BE Forum Addict

USBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond reputeUSBound has a reputation beyond repute

I work in an office where we have no dress codes... wear whatever you want is the basic policy... at any time..