Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Online bank - USA wages & OK for UK mortgage?

Online bank - USA wages & OK for UK mortgage?

Old Aug 15th 2022, 8:26 pm
Just Joined

EarthlingHatchedInUK is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Online bank - USA wages & OK for UK mortgage?

Hello,

Thank you for this valuable forum. I've got tonnes of good advice here

I lived in the USA for years and now have dual citizenship - UK/USA. I work as a remote contractor for USA companies but I am based in the UK. My salary is paid into my USA bank account.

I would like to buy a house in the UK. I am resident in the UK and filing UK taxes (and yes, complicated with the US-based wages and US global tax laws, etc.).

For UK residential mortgages (not ex-pat mortgages) you need to have earnings paid into a UK bank. However, USA companies do not pay direct into foreign bank accounts (at least the clients I have asked cannot do it).

So then I thought an online bank may work. Does anyone know of an online bank that USA wages can be paid into (so acceptable for USA tax stuff) and that the UK recognises as a legitimate bank for mortgages?

A very niche question! so was having no luck searching on the interwebs.

Thank you very much
Old Aug 15th 2022, 9:08 pm
BE Forum Addict

durham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond reputedurham_lad has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Online bank - USA wages & OK for UK mortgage?