Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Newbie- Son's Learner's Permit/ ITIN question

Newbie- Son's Learner's Permit/ ITIN question

Old Apr 24th 2008, 4:31 pm
Forum Regular

Rose of the Shires will become famous soon enough
Default Newbie- Son's Learner's Permit/ ITIN question

Hello- I'm a newbie, but been in the US for nearly 7 years, and lurking on these boards for a shamefully long time.

Anyhoo...out into the open...

Can anyone help with a question (yes- I have searched the forum, and the DMV website, AND the SSA website, but I can't find what I need to know). My son is 16, and eligible for his learner's driving permit. At the mo, he only has an ITIN, is this acceptable to the NY DMV, or do we have to get a SSN?

Thanks in advance!!
Old Apr 24th 2008, 5:52 pm

meauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie- Son's Learner's Permit/ ITIN question

Originally Posted by Rose of the Shires
Hello- I'm a newbie, but been in the US for nearly 7 years, and lurking on these boards for a shamefully long time.

Anyhoo...out into the open...

Can anyone help with a question (yes- I have searched the forum, and the DMV website, AND the SSA website, but I can't find what I need to know). My son is 16, and eligible for his learner's driving permit. At the mo, he only has an ITIN, is this acceptable to the NY DMV, or do we have to get a SSN?

Thanks in advance!!
Why doesn't your son have a social security number?
If he is not eligible for one, get the letter described below. If he is eligible for one, apply for it.

From NYS DMV: