British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Newbie here (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/newbie-here-851201/)

adamcarts Jan 21st 2015 4:02 pm

Newbie here

Hello all newbie here. Sorry I have posted this in the welcome thread too. I am hoping I can get some really great help and advice in the minefield of trying to move to the USA.

My story is that at 54 I thought I would never find love again. Well I have. And I have been with a lovely american lady for over 14 months now. We have visited each other several times and we want to marry in the future. I have used the ESTA. Unfortunately she is only separated currently as her estranged husband won't give her a divorce.

So I obviously want to be near to her while we wait. As far as I can tell its almost an impossibility. I used to be an EMT for an NHS Ambulance service and I was hoping I could get an EMT or a healthcare job there. So far I have been unsuccessful hence my reason for coming here. I guess I am looking in the wrong places.

If anyone could offer any help or advice I would be very grateful as these tearful goodbye's at the airport are killing both of us (I know I am a soppy old git).

Thanks
Adam

Hotscot Jan 21st 2015 4:06 pm

Re: Newbie here

Adam...at your age and skillset no one is going to offer you a job in the US.

Hasn't she been estranged long enough to obtain a divorce without his agreement?

Do you have sufficient financial resources to support her if she came to the UK?

Lion in Winter Jan 21st 2015 4:08 pm

Originally Posted by adamcarts (Post 11540420)
Hello all newbie here. Sorry I have posted this in the welcome thread too. I am hoping I can get some really great help and advice in the minefield of trying to move to the USA.