British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   New in the US, what to expect for car insurance premium? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/new-us-what-expect-car-insurance-premium-754087/)

SaulProvider Apr 6th 2012 10:34 pm

New in the US, what to expect for car insurance premium?

I am new to the US and need to get car insurance. The few quotes I received seem to me very very high, something in the range of $800/semester! Is this the amount one should expect to pay or did I get quotes from very expensive companies?

Also, what coverage should I go for in terms of liability and own car coverage?

Many thanks!

Mr Weeze Apr 6th 2012 11:42 pm

Re: New in the US, what to expect for car insurance premium?

This is about as well as you can expect to do:

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=753834

It costs $440 to join for the year.

Ethelred_the_Unready Apr 8th 2012 3:01 am

Car insurance is much more expensive than the UK, but it varies state by state. I pay $159 a month; I paid £30 a month in the UK, although it was for a Ford Fiesta, third party fire & theft, 9 years no claims bonus. My insurance in the UK kept going down, it just goes up here every year.

BritishGuy36 Apr 8th 2012 3:17 am

Auto insurance is higher here.

You don't say if you have your US license or not. Obtaining a US license is the single biggest thing you can do to reduce your insurance premiums.

tinman0 Apr 8th 2012 10:42 pm

Never had a problem with car insurance. If anything same car (I imported my UK car (that happens to be American anyway)), was a little cheaper.

Geico gave me $57pm for my car, and USAA gave me $56 (Fully Comp or whatever the equiv is). Geico also gave me $58pm for my truck (30 year old Dodge), and USAA was down to $37.