Moving to USA without a job

Wikiposts

Moving to USA without a job

Old Jun 7th 2014, 5:01 am
Just Joined

britishamerican is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to USA without a job

Hello you all!
I'm new to this, but I have been reading up a lot on the different forums that gives a lot of advice and useful information.I'm hoping all you wonderful people out there will help me on this terrifying but exciting journey I'm about to begin.

Now, to give you some insight into my and my husband's current status at the moment.My husband has lived all his life in the UK but also has a loving family from his mother's side in the US.He has always had a dual citizenship for both UK and US.He is 32, and I'm 27(no children yet) We are both very fed up of our lives in England and ever since I married him 2 years ago, I have been trying to pursue him to make a move to the US and now he is finally convinced that we should.We are giving ourselves 6-8 months (Feb/March 2015) to get there basically.

Although we have visa side of things sorted (almost!) since he already has a SSN and a US passport, and I'm going to get the boll rolling for I-130, the only thing we need to really sort ourselves out is jobs! This is what really got me worried(always has), but hopefully we can find something that will be adequate for monthly bills etc and more hopefully.

My husband has worked in retail all his life and is now a store manager on a decent wage but he doesnt have a degree.He has some btech qualifications which I'm not sure will work when he applies for jobs.I have Bachelor's and Masters degree in business, and been working in a Commercial enviornment for past 2 years.I'm hoping that my husband will get some sort of a general manager job(hes been a manager for almost 8 years), and I could get a job like junior buyer or something similar.