Reload this Page >

Moving to USA with PGCE

Moving to USA with PGCE

Old Oct 10th 2021, 3:06 pm
Just Joined

Sassy8 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to USA with PGCE

Hi,

If I have a BA degree (2:1) in History and will have a PGCE qualification by June/July2022. Will this be transferable if I move to the USA to live with my finance?
In England, I would be required to do 2 further years as an ECT (Early Careers Teacher) rather than the 1 year of NQT (Newly Qualified Teacher) as previously required. This is far too long for us to be apart, especially as Covid-19 has forced us apart so much already. I would like to live with my fiance (who is American) as he has now moved back to the USA - he finished working for the US Air force this year.
Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Old Oct 10th 2021, 3:29 pm
Deep in the woods of CT

Nutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond reputeNutmegger has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving to USA with PGCE

Welcome to BE! I'm afraid that you can't just "move to the US to live with my fiance" -- you need a visa. Here is a link to the BE wiki that tells you about your options:

https://britishexpats.com/wiki/Pulas...ork_in_the_USA
Old Oct 10th 2021, 3:41 pm
Just Joined

Thanks for your reply We plan to marry this year πŸ™‚
Old Oct 10th 2021, 3:44 pm
Deep in the woods of CT