British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Moving to the USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/moving-usa-768914/)

Huna13208 Aug 20th 2012 8:08 pm

Moving to the USA

Hi folks, I was hoping I could find some advice, I've never used this type of forum before and I'm just hoping to find some helpful insights.

My wife and I have been living in the U.K. for the last 4 and a bit years after we got married in the USA. She has indefinite leave to remain in the U.K. but she wants to relocate back to the US to be near family.

What are our options for moving to the US?

We've done some reading and it keeps looking like we have to be separated for ages so that she can get a job etc in the US and earn enough money to sponsor me? I don't know too much about it and was hoping there's another way..... I'd rather not have be separated if possible.

if there's any chance someone could please shine a light on all this it would be super helpful.......

Thanks

Huna

JSL8610 Aug 20th 2012 8:22 pm

Re: Moving to the USA

Originally Posted by Huna13208 (Post 10237014)
Hi folks, I was hoping I could find some advice, I've never used this type of forum before and I'm just hoping to find some helpful insights.

My wife and I have been living in the U.K. for the last 4 and a bit years after we got married in the USA. She has indefinite leave to remain in the U.K. but she wants to relocate back to the US to be near family.

What are our options for moving to the US?

We've done some reading and it keeps looking like we have to be separated for ages so that she can get a job etc in the US and earn enough money to sponsor me? I don't know too much about it and was hoping there's another way..... I'd rather not have be separated if possible.

if there's any chance someone could please shine a light on all this it would be super helpful.......

Thanks

Huna

Well hello and :welcome: