British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Moving to the US, what are my options? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/moving-us-what-my-options-603288/)

mis0angel Apr 13th 2009 1:41 pm

Moving to the US, what are my options?

I am desperate to get out of the UK and relocate to the US. I have read a bit about how to get there, find work, etc. but I don't know if these things apply to me in my current situation, and also I have a lot of questions. Hopefully someone on here can help me.

I'm 25, 5 months pregnant, unmarried with living with my partner (although we will probably get married soon), unemployed as I used to work as a self employed driving instructor, and on UK benefits. I have a half sister who was born in Thailand but has lived in the US since the age of 4 (so for about 35 years) and is a US Citizen.

What are my options for moving to the US? I read about a member of your immediate family sponsoring you for a green card. Does this apply in my situation as my sister and I only share the same mother, but not the same father? I read this process can take up to 10 years.

If I were to get a visa, what type of jobs would I be able to get?

Also, I read somewhere that if my baby was born in the US this would make him a US Citizen, would that entitle me and my partner to stay in the US so that we could raise our baby in the country she was born in?

Would my partner and I be allowed to marry in the US on non-immigrant visas?

I know some of these questions are quite basic, but I thought I would ask as online research is taking me weeks! Thanks. :thumbup:

The Horticulturalist Apr 13th 2009 1:57 pm

Re: Moving to the US, what are my options?

Originally Posted by mis0angel (Post 7475841)