Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Moving to US with partner Questions Questions?

Moving to US with partner Questions Questions?

Old Mar 22nd 2013, 2:01 pm
Just Joined

kesser is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to US with partner Questions Questions?

Hi

Please can anyone help/advise me?

My boyfriend has got a job where they have agreed to move him to California and sponsor him for a Green Card.

This is all supposed to take place Jan/Feb 2014. He has asked me to go with him as his wife

My questions are:

Do we need to be married for a certain amount of time for me to be able to go over on his visa which after some research I think would need to be an L1 or maybe even directly on a Green Card (to enable me to work also)?

I would like to work over there and I am an IT professional/Manager with 15 years experience and IT Management specific qualifications that are recognised in the USA, however I did not go to college or Uni, will this affect my chances of getting work?

If I needed to continue working for a period of time (i.e. 3-6 months after Jan/Feb 2014) in the UK would this affect me in anyway?

Any advise/help would be appreciated??

Thank You

K
Old Mar 22nd 2013, 2:07 pm
BE Forum Addict

lisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond reputelisa67 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving to US with partner Questions Questions?

Hi and welcome :-)

It will all depend on which visa your husband (to be) is granted.