British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Moving to San Francisco without a job (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/moving-san-francisco-without-job-470662/)

georgio Aug 1st 2007 1:43 pm

Moving to San Francisco without a job

Hi,

This is my first post on here.

Just wondering if any of you can offer some advice / information / opinions on my situation.

I'm 24, a dual US/UK citizen, but I've lived in London since I was 7. I have a degree from UCL and have been working for 3 years for a large American firm in London. I've wanted to live & work in the US since I started, but my company are now saying they won't move me for a few more years.

I haven't been able to get another company to hire me from London, although I have applied to some. I've been rejected from most on the basis that it's easier for them to hire someone local.

So I have quit and will be moving to San Francisco in September. I have about $20k saved so that's not a big problem, plus I own a flat in London I will be letting out.

I am still a bit nervous it's all a huge mistake, but I am doing it anyway :) Things I am still worried about are:
- finding a place to live (where in SF is good for someone like me?),
- getting a job (will anyone hire me for a well paid job? I am on £45k here, also is temping easy to come by in SF?),
- making friends (assume this will be easy if I get a flatshare and a job, but still nervous),

Anyway just thought I'd post this on here and see if anyone has any advice, thoughts, as it seems like a friendly community from the other posts. Are there any common mistakes people make, things I won't have thought of that could go wrong? :)

Jerseygirl Aug 1st 2007 1:45 pm

Re: Moving to San Francisco without a job

Welcome to BE.

Tell us a little more...are you single...what sort of work are you looking for?

georgio Aug 1st 2007 1:55 pm